I’m back.  To the world of blogging, that is.  At least, it I hope so.  That’s the plan – we’ll see if I’m faithful.  I won’t make any promises lest I break my blogging covenant over the summer.  Let us hope that this post is the re-awakening of a new series of thoughtful musings on the pursuit of wisdom.

Allow me to give you a brief update on my life.  On my last blog post, I told you about my employment at Dunkin’ Donuts and also about my burgeoning romance with a good-hearted Nova Scotian composer and our impending nuptials in June 2010.   Since then, several things have happened.  First, I was accepted to pursue graduated studies both at the University of Oxford in England and the University of St Andrews in Scotland.  I was rejected by Princeton Theological Seminary and am still  bitter (but not really disappointed).  I plan to frame my two acceptance letters and my one rejection from Princeton and hang them on my wall.  I decided to go for an MLitt in Theology, Imagination and the Arts at St Andrews.  After being out of school for seven months, I am delighted about the prospect of going back.

My husband (yes, we did get married in June and had a lovely honeymoon in Greece) has graciously agreed to pause his studies in music composition at Temple University while I go for my Master’s.  He will resume his studies when we return to the United States.  In the meantime, I have quit my job at Dunkin’ Donuts and we are preparing to move to Nova Scotia for the summer.  We will live with Josh’s parents and Josh will work for his father’s construction business.  I will prepare my mind for school by reading and also begin work on Book II of my novella.  As some of you will recall, Josh and I first began talking because I wrote the rough draft of a novella entitled, “The Vanishing God.”  He was interested in it and critiqued it over the summer.   After being away from it for several months, I am ready to revisit it in order to edit the first part and to write the second.  In fact, I must write the second part.  The first part was the culmination of all my thoughts and experiences in Oxford.  Much has happened since its writing and the novella feels unfinished.

I don’t suppose I have any profound thoughts to share with you today – just an update on my life.  I am unspeakably happy (in a quiet way) and daily discover more wonderful things about my husband.  Right now, I am watching him at his computer (he has his headphones on and is writing music) as he waves his hands in the air, conducting the music in his head.  He is writing, creating, reveling.  He is an artist.  I love him.

I have been shy of blogging, I think, over the past few months because life has been too wonderful, too full to give you much of an account.  I keep thinking of the end of the Gospel of John, which reads, “And there are also many other things which Jesus did, which if they were written in detail, I suppose that even the world itself would not contain the books that would be written.”  I feel somewhat like this about the fullness of my life and the romance that Josh and I have begun, “And there were many things which Joshua and Rebekah did and said, which if they were written about in detail, I suppose that even the world itself would not contain the books that would be written, nor could these convey the depth and joy of their love.”  But writing (or any art) is never full revelation, never unlimited conveyance of a thing.  We must be content in our partial knowing and in our limitations.  It cannot all be written and there is beauty in the veil.

And so, this summer, may I once again take pen in hand (or, rather, keyboard) and continue my partial musings on this good life which God has entrusted to us.